top of page
  • Writer's picturejade cunningham

April First Devotional


I struggle with not not feeling loved. But those are worldly thoughts. I was reading 1 John and I read “Behold what manner of love the father has bestowed on us, that we should be called children of God.” I had to reread this verse. My head knows that I am a child of God, but has my heart truly grasped what this means? Do I understand that God is not an earthly father? He doesn’t fail me and he doesn’t seek revenge when I fail Him. He doesn’t want to go a day without talking to me. He isn’t the father that leaves in the middle of the night and never returns. He isn’t the father that yells at you when you mess up. He doesn’t turn His back on you when you fail. He doesn’t insult you in front of other.

He loves with a reckless love. He leaves the ninety-nine to find you. He doesn’t want you to settle for less than what He has in mind. Because He is the creator of all things, yourself included, and there is no end to His supply. He wants to know your hurt, because He cares for you. 1 Peter 5:7 “Cast all your cares on Him because He cares for you.”

Luke 11:11-13 says, “What father among you, if his son asks for a fish, will give him a

how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask Him!”

He loves you with a love you can’t comprehend. But if you can understand that He is a good, good father you will live your life a completely differently. Today, meditate on what it means for God to be your father. Not an earthly father, but a father that will do anything and everything for you if you will give Him our heart.

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page