top of page
  • Writer's picturejade cunningham

Three Things You Need to Know to Trust God's Plan


1. His Plan is Greater

We write our own stories in our minds. I remember when my story read "veterinarian, married by twenty-two, and living on a farm in North Carolina." I am currently a college student, living in Norman, Oklahoma, and my only love interest has four hooves.

Maybe the second scenario doesn't sound like a fairytale but, in it's own way, it is.

My plan didn't require me to grow. I wouldn't have had to grow in faith, friendships, ministry, or education. Yes, maybe it would have been easier but it would not have given me all of the experiences and knowledge I now have. God knew that I needed to take a completely different path to get me to where He needed me to be.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts." Isaiah 55:8-9

“Which of you fathers, if your son asks for a fish, will give him a snake instead?

Or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion? If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!” Luke 11:11-13

2. You're Not Alone

Likewise, most of the people presented in the Bible didn't live their "fairytale" lives either. Peter thought he would be a fisherman but Jesus had plans for him to be a fisher of men (Matthew 4:18-22). If Peter would have been a fishermen all of his life he wouldn't have walked on water and he wouldn't have encouraged millions of Christians to continue on in their faith even when they screw up.

Paul had no plans of being a follower of Jesus, in fact he executed Christians. But God had a different plan. God had plans for Paul to write over half of the new testament. Imagine what Christianity would look like without Paul. Wow!

But Paul nor Peter became who God needed them to be without difficulties and struggles. Peter was always getting into trouble. Cutting peoples ears off, denying Jesus, etc. And Paul, well Paul was thrown in prison! Everyone who has done something great for the Kingdom has gone through hardships. Do not be discouraged!

"Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9

"Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up." Galatians 6:8

3. He will give you peace in the midst of your pain

This is my favorite point! We might endure pain when we are being shaped by God but we can have peace. We can have peace through the knowledge that God's plan is great and because we aren't alone. We can have peace because He has promised it to us.

"I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength." Philippians 4:11-13

" The Lord gives strength to his people; the LORD blesses his people with peace." Psalm 29:11

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page