top of page
  • Writer's picturejade cunningham

I Deal With Depression Too

Recently I had writers block. I also had Christianity block which was contributing to my writers block. What I mean by Christianity block is that I stopped striving to find God in my daily routines.

Actually, I would go as far to say that I was avoiding God. I did not go to church for three weeks, I stopped reading my Bible, and I shut myself off from my friends that talked about what good things God was doing in their life. I did this because I was angry at the situations in my life.

I had to temporarily quite my job, college is hard, and the one thing I had prayed God would not allow to happen, happened. So I decided to block contact with God. Well, all contact with the exception of me complaining to Him about my life on the daily.

You will never believe what happened in my life after I started having Christianity block. I got depressed. Everything sucked. I cried 24/7. I hated everyone and everything. And it took everything in me to get out of bed in the mornings.

The way I see it I had two options. The first was to slip deeper into my depression and the second was to overcome my depression. I decided to fight for the latter. I started waking up early to read my Bible. I forced myself to go to church. I also forced myself to praise when I wanted to complain. After making these changing my depression started to fade. My situation did not change but my attitude did.

God is always look to shape up. He wants to change us so that our lives will improve. We must be willing to put in the work. He is always ready to give us a new thing. I do not know what your 'new thing' is but I do know you must be willing to get off of your butt and put in the work to recieve it.

bottom of page